Underinsured/Uninsured Motorists
Roscich & Martel Law Firm, LLC

Schedule your initial consultation Today

630-355-5222

214 1/2 S. Washington Street, Naperville, IL 60540

Naperville Driving Without Insurance Defense Attorneys

Naperville Uninsured Motorist Defense Lawyers

DuPage County Lawyers Fighting Traffic Violations for Uninsured or Underinsured Drivers

Under Illinois law, drivers are required to carry car insurance. This requirement is intended to ensure that those who are involved in accidents that are their fault are able to pay for the damages and injuries they cause. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will be facing stiff penalties including fines, the suspension or revocation of your driver's license, and jail time in certain cases. For this reason, if you have been accused of driving without insurance, you should contact an attorney as soon as you can in order to minimize the legal consequences that you are facing.

What are the Minimum Liability Amounts in Illinois?

The minimum levels of coverage that Illinois drivers must carry are as follows:

  • $25,000 - injury or death of one person in an accident.
  • $50,000 - injury or death of more than one person in an accident.
  • $20,000 - damage to property of another person.

You are legally required to carry proof of insurance in your vehicle and present it to law enforcement on request. Importantly, you can still be accused of violating the law if you have insurance but are unable to present your insurance card if a police officer asks for it.

What are the Penalties for a Driving without Insurance Conviction?

Operating a motor vehicle without insurance can result in extremely serious consequences. These consequences range from simple fines to jail time based on the circumstances of the offense. Here are some of the penalties authorized under the Illinois operation of an uninsured motor vehicle statute:

  • If you are caught driving without proof of insurance for the first time but can show that you have insurance at your court date, you will be fined $100.
  • For a first offense or second offense, a fine of between $500 and $1,000 and a license suspension of three months.
  • For a third offense, a fine of $1,000.
  • If you cause bodily injury while you are not carrying insurance, you may be convicted of a misdemeanor, which could result in up to a year in jail. In addition, you will be fined $2,500.

Fortunately, there are often ways that an experienced lawyer can help people accused of driving without insurance avoid the most serious consequences. As a result, it is in your best interest to call a lawyer as soon as you can after you receive a citation or are arrested for driving without insurance.

Call a DuPage County Defense Attorney Today

If you have been accused of driving without insurance, you should contact Roscich & Martel Law Firm, LLC today. We work with clients throughout the Chicagoland area, including in the communities of Naperville, Plainfield, Bolingbrook, Wheaton, Warrenville, Winfield, Downers Grove, and Lisle. To schedule a consultation, call us today at 630-355-5222 or contact us online.

Back to Top